Fujiya & Miyagi – Ventriloquizzing (2011)

Fujiya & Miyagi are a British electro-indie band whose fourth album, Ventriloquizzing, is due out on the 25th. This album seems to borrow equally from the new wavey post punk of Joy Division and the rigid, repetitive electronic music of bands like Holy Fuck. On this album, they keep the tempos low and really emphasize the low end with the bass and understated drumming. Synthesizers lend this a bit of color in places as do elements like backing vocals and a piano.

I think Ventriloquizzing will alienate people for one of two reasons. Either people will find the lyrics and the band’s general ethos kind of obnoxious or they will wish the band dove further into the dance elements of their music. Obviously, there are other reasons not to like this, as is the case with anything, but I’m enjoying it. I admit the lyrics often come across as silly, juvenile, nonsensical, or some combination of the three, but for me the way the music complements the words makes it seem as though it isn’t meant to be taken very seriously. My favorite song here, “Sixteen Shades of Black & Blue” is literally about beating someone black and blue. I love the way he sings “I’ll beat you black, I’ll beat you blue,” but it looks so silly on paper.

I’m hearing that sort of depressive gloom in the vocals (think Interpol’s first album), the downtempo melancholy in the melodies (think Portishead), and the dancey beats (think the afformentioned Holy Fuck), all stuffed into a blender. The last track on the album, “Universe,” makes a phenomenal use of airy background vocals that just go “ah-ah-ah-ah” over the course of the track. Fujiya & Miyagi do little things to spice this up, and it’s kind of amazing that they have the effect they do.

I’m relieved that this album doesn’t explore its dance aspects further. If anything, I would argue that the danceability is incidental. I think this really wants to be a brooding post-punk album. The low end is just too undeniable to think these guys didn’t care at all about the mood. There are a few tracks I have trouble characterizing as “dance” music at all. “Spilt Milk” has no percussion, being built around the piano melody instead. “Taiwanese Roots” doesn’t have the propulsive rhythm I keep hearing elsewhere. On “Minestrone,” I find it easier to focus on the narrative than on the beat.

So, I’m totally on board with this, and truth be told, I did not expect to like this at all. I’ve given two of their three previous albums multiple listens and didn’t care for them, but right off the bat I found Ventriloquizzing an inviting listen and it’s growing on me as I discover little intricacies in the songs. This is my favorite thing I’ve heard this year, so far, at least up to this point. I don’t think it will be among my favorite albums of the year, but for now I’m having fun with this.

Videos for two songs from the album: Yo-Yo and Sixteen Shades of Black & Blue.

This entry was posted in Fujiya & Miyagi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment